Fortify

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Fortify
Keyword Ability
Type Activated
Introduced Future Sight
Last Used Future Sight
Reminder Text Fortify [cost] ([Cost]: Attach this Fortification to target land you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.)
Statistics 1 card
{artifact symbol} 100%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Fortify"

Fortify is a keyword ability that appears on Fortifications. It's exactly the same as equip, except that it affects a land instead of a creature.

History[edit]

Fortify was introduced in Future Sight. It has only been printed on one card so far, the timeshifted Darksteel Garrison. Mark Rosewater has considered the mechanic difficult to implement, as the typical sanctity of lands limits both the utility of re-usability that equipment hold, and the ability to put powerful effects on fortifications.[1][2][3]

Rules[edit]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 7, 2020—Double Masters)

Fortify
A keyword ability that lets a player attach a Fortification to a land they control. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.66, “Fortify.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 7, 2020—Double Masters)

  • 702.66. Fortify
    • 702.66a Fortify is an activated ability of Fortification cards. “Fortify [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this Fortification to target land you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    • 702.66b For more information about Fortifications, see rule 301, “Artifacts.”
    • 702.66c If a Fortification has multiple instances of fortify, any of its fortify abilities may be used.

Rulings[edit]

  • If Darksteel Garrison and the fortified land would be destroyed at the same time, only Darksteel Garrison is destroyed.
  • The second ability triggers whenever the fortified land becomes tapped, not just when it's tapped for mana.
  • The triggered ability is mandatory. If you don't have a creature to target, you must target another player's creature, if possible.

Examples[edit]

Example

Darksteel Garrison {2}
Artifact — Fortification
Fortified land has indestructible.
Whenever fortified land becomes tapped, target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.
Fortify {3} ({3}: Attach to target land you control. Fortify only as a sorcery. This card enters the battlefield unattached and stays on the battlefield if the land leaves.)

References[edit]