Fortification

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Fortification
Fortification.jpg
Artifact type
(Subtype for artifact cards)
Rules Fortify {X}
Statistics 1 card
{artifact symbol} 100%
Scryfall Search
type:"Fortification"

Fortification is an artifact type introduced in Future Sight. A Fortification can be attached to a land following the same rules as an equipment attached to a creature. It uses the fortify keyword, its counterpart to equip. So far, the only Fortification in existence is Darksteel Garrison.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 301.6. Some artifacts have the subtype “Fortification.” A Fortification can be attached to a land. It can’t legally be attached to an object that isn’t a land. Fortification’s analog to the equip keyword ability is the fortify keyword ability. Rules 301.5a–e apply to Fortifications in relation to lands just as they apply to Equipment in relation to creatures, with one clarification relating to rule 301.5c: a Fortification that’s also a creature (not a land) can’t fortify a land. (See rule 702.66, “Fortify.”)

From the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

  • 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (August 23, 2019—Commander 2019)

Fortification
An artifact subtype. Fortifications can be attached to lands. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.66, “Fortify.”