In the next few weeks, your wiki will be migrated to a Fandom.com domain. Learn more here.
HarperPrism promo (mechanic)|
|Reminder Text||No official reminder text|
11.3% 54.7% 15.1% 5.7% 1.9% 1.9% 1.9% 3.8% 3.8%
Fight is a keyword action introduced in Innistrad. The word appears in a phrase like "[Cardname] fights target creature." and it means that both creatures deal damage equal to their Power to each other. Cards using fight appear primary in green and secondary in red. They carry the flavor of an altercation.
Description[edit | edit source]
Fight is similar to the mechanic originally introduced with the Land Arena, though slightly altered. A few old cards (including Arena) with the same functionality received updated Oracle wording using the new terminology. Cards with similar, but not identical, functionality do not use the word "fight".
Rules[edit | edit source]
- When two creatures fight, each deals damage equal to its power to the other. See rule 701.12, “Fight.”
- 701.12. Fight
- 701.12a A spell or ability may instruct a creature to fight another creature or it may instruct two creatures to fight each other. Each of those creatures deals damage equal to its power to the other creature.
- 701.12b If a creature instructed to fight is no longer on the battlefield or is no longer a creature, no damage is dealt. If a creature is an illegal target for a resolving spell or ability that instructs it to fight, no damage is dealt.
- 701.12c If a creature fights itself, it deals damage to itself equal to twice its power.
- 701.12d The damage dealt when a creature fights isn’t combat damage.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- The damage is dealt simultaneously, and it is dealt by the creatures themselves, so abilities like deathtouch, lifelink, and infect will work as normal.
- Damage dealt while fighting is not combat damage, so abilities like first strike won't have any effect.
- Fighting itself does not cause the creatures to become tapped.
- Only creatures can fight.
- No more than two creatures can fight.
- If a creature somehow fights itself, it will deal damage to itself equal to its power twice simultaneously.
Example[edit | edit source]
Target creature fights another target creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)
Fighting cards before the keyword action[edit | edit source]
- Arena from a special book promotion and Time Spiral
- Triangle of War from Visions
- Contested Cliffs from Onslaught
- Magus of the Arena from Planar Chaos
- Rivals' Duel from Morningtide
Some cards have abilities similar, but not identical, to fight and have not received errata:
- Cyclops Gladiator from Magic 2011
- Durkwood Tracker from Time Spiral
- Gargantuan Gorilla from Alliances
- Karplusan Yeti from Ice Age
- Predatory Urge from Zendikar
- Stalking Yeti from Coldsnap
- Tahngarth, Talruum Hero from Planeshift
- Tracker from The Dark
- Vein Drinker from Shards of Alara
Bite[edit | edit source]
Green needed answers to creatures, but R&D wanted to make sure the solution to creatures involves creatures. Fight was the first step in that direction. The next step, as first seen in Oath of the Gatewatch, was one-sided fighting for green, which was later dubbed "bite" by R&D
References[edit | edit source]
- Wizards of the Coast (August 28, 2011). "Innistrad Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (January 08, 2016). "Nissa's Judgment is green, but it doesn't let the targeted creature fight back?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (January 30, 2016). "What's all this noise I keep hearing about fight and "deals damage equal to its power"?". Blogatog. Tumblr.