Fight

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Fight
Keyword Action
Introduced HarperPrism promo (mechanic)
Innistrad (keyword)
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Statistics 53 cards
{R} 11.3% {G} 54.7% {R/G} 15.1% {G/W} 5.7% {B/G} 1.9% {G/U} 1.9% {M} 1.9% {artifact symbol} 3.8% {land symbol} 3.8%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Fight"

Fight is a keyword action introduced in Innistrad. The word appears in a phrase like "[Cardname] fights target creature." and it means that both creatures deal damage equal to their Power to each other.[1][2] Cards using fight appear primary in green and secondary in red.[3] They carry the flavor of an altercation.

Description[edit | edit source]

Fight is similar to the mechanic originally introduced with the Land Arena, though slightly altered. A few old cards (including Arena) with the same functionality received updated Oracle wording using the new terminology. Cards with similar, but not identical, functionality do not use the word "fight".

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Fight
When two creatures fight, each deals damage equal to its power to the other. See rule 701.12, “Fight.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

  • 701.12. Fight
    • 701.12a A spell or ability may instruct a creature to fight another creature or it may instruct two creatures to fight each other. Each of those creatures deals damage equal to its power to the other creature.
    • 701.12b If a creature instructed to fight is no longer on the battlefield or is no longer a creature, no damage is dealt. If a creature is an illegal target for a resolving spell or ability that instructs it to fight, no damage is dealt.
    • 701.12c If a creature fights itself, it deals damage to itself equal to twice its power.
    • 701.12d The damage dealt when a creature fights isn’t combat damage.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The damage is dealt simultaneously, and it is dealt by the creatures themselves, so abilities like deathtouch, lifelink, and infect will work as normal.
  • Damage dealt while fighting is not combat damage, so abilities like first strike won't have any effect.
  • Fighting itself does not cause the creatures to become tapped.[1]
  • Only creatures can fight.
  • No more than two creatures can fight.
  • If a creature somehow fights itself, it will deal damage to itself equal to its power twice simultaneously.

Example[edit | edit source]

Example

Blood Feud {4}{R}{R}
Sorcery
Target creature fights another target creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Fighting cards before the keyword action[edit | edit source]

Some cards have abilities similar, but not identical, to fight and have not received errata:

Bite[edit | edit source]

Green needed answers to creatures, but R&D wanted to make sure the solution to creatures involves creatures. Fight was the first step in that direction. The next step, as first seen in Oath of the Gatewatch, was one-sided fighting for green, which was later dubbed bite by R&D[4][5]

References[edit | edit source]