We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Fabricate

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Fabricate
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Kaladesh
Last Used: Kaladesh
Reminder Text: Fabricate N (When this permanent enters the battlefield, you may put N +1/+1 counters on it. If you don't, create N 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens.)
Statistics: 14 cards
{W} 29% {B} 29% {G} 29% {X} 14%
Gatherer search for "Fabricate"

Fabricate is a keyword ability introduced in Kaladesh.[1][2] It was first previewed on the card Propeller Pioneer at PAX West 2016.[3]

When a creature with Fabricate enters the battlefield you may put a number of +1/+1 counters on the creature, or create a number of 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens. The number after fabricate tells you how many +1/+1 counters or Servos you get.

The fabricate ability triggers when the creature enters the battlefield, but you don't choose counters or tokens until that ability resolves. That means your opponent will have an opportunity to respond to the ability before you make that choice and before the +1/+1 counters or Servo tokens exist. If the creature with fabricate isn't on the battlefield as the fabricate ability resolves, you must choose to create the Servo tokens.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.122. Fabricate
    • 702.122a Fabricate is a triggered ability. “Fabricate N” means “When this permanent enters the battlefield, you may put N +1/+1 counters on it. If you don’t, create N 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature tokens.”
    • 702.122b If a permanent has multiple instances of fabricate, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Fabricate
A keyword ability that lets you choose whether to create Servo tokens or put +1/+1 counters on a creature. See rule 702.122, “Fabricate.”

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak. (September 2, 2016.) “Kaladesh Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (September 19, 2016.) “Kaladesh Ingredients, Part 2”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Magic Twitch channel (September 2 2016). Magic at PAX: Kaladesh Debut.

External links[edit | edit source]