Hello there! We are conducting a survey to better understand the user experience in making a first edit. If you have ever made an edit on Gamepedia, please fill out the survey. Thank you!

Extort

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Extort
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Gatecrash
Last Used Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B} If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
Storm Scale 6[1]
Statistics 13 cards
{W} 30.8% {B} 38.5% {W/B} 30.8%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Extort"

Extort is a keyword introduced in Gatecrash, wherein it is the Orzhov Syndicate guild mechanic.[2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Extort allows players to pay additional {W} or {B} for spells they cast and create a small life-draining effect. The mechanic was designed by Shawn Main who wasn’t actually on the design team for Gatecrash. The cost being hybrid mana happened late in the process.[3]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Extort
A keyword ability that lets you gain life and have opponents lose life whenever you cast a spell. See rule 702.100, “Extort.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

  • 702.100. Extort
    • 702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”
    • 702.100b If a permanent has multiple instances of extort, each triggers separately.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • The amount of life you gain is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • The extort ability doesn't target any player.
  • The hybrid white-black mana symbol does not change the card's colour identity.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Treasury Thrull {4}{W}{B}
Creature — Thrull
4/4
Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
Whenever Treasury Thrull attacks, you may return target artifact, creature, or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand.

References[edit | edit source]