We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: End of Week.

Exploit

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Exploit
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Dragons of Tarkir
Last Used: Dragons of Tarkir
Reminder Text: Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.)
Storm Scale: 6[1]
Statistics: 10 cards
{B} 60%, {U} 40%
Gatherer search for "Exploit"

Exploit is a keyword ability introduced in Dragons of Tarkir, where it is the signature ability of the blue-black Clan Silumgar. [2] When a creature with exploit enters the battlefield, the player may sacrifice a creature he or she controls. Each creature with exploit has another ability that gives the player a benefit when it "exploits a creature" This means when the player sacrificed a creature because of its exploit ability. [3] [4]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.109. Exploit
    • 702.109a Exploit is a triggered ability. “Exploit” means “When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.”
    • 702.109b A creature with exploit “exploits a creature” when the controller of the exploit ability sacrifices a creature as that ability resolves.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Exploit
A keyword ability that lets you sacrifice a creature for a benefit. See rule 702.109, “Exploit.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You choose whether to sacrifice a creature and which creature to sacrifice as the exploit ability resolves.
  • You can sacrifice the creature with exploit if it’s still on the battlefield. This will cause its other ability to trigger.
  • You can’t sacrifice more than one creature to any one exploit ability.
  • The extra ability doesn't trigger if the player sacrificed a creature for any other reason, including the exploit ability of a different creature.
  • A player can sacrifice any creature he or she controls when the exploit ability resolves, including the creature with exploit itself.
  • You don't have to sacrifice a creature if you don't want to.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Silumgar Butcher - {4}{B}
    Creature - Zombie Djinn
    Exploit (When this creature enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice a creature.)
    When Silumgar Butcher exploits a creature, target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (February 29, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Khans of Tarkir Block”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (April 20, 2015.) “Parallel Design”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak. (March 2, 2015.) “Mechanics of Dragons of Tarkir”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Wizards of the Coast. (March 18, 2015.) “Dragons of Tarkir Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.