We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.


From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Type: Activated
Introduced: Mirrodin
Last Used: Evergreen
Reminder Text: Equip (cost) ((Cost): Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)
Statistics: 189 cards
{W}1% Artifact 96% Multicolor 3%
Gatherer search for "Equip"

Equip is a keyword ability found on artifacts with the subtype "equipment". By paying the equip cost, you can attach the artifact to a creature, who is referred to in the text as the "equipped creature".

Description[edit | edit source]

Equipping is played as a sorcery. When an equipped creature leaves play, unlike local enchantments, the equipment remains in play.

The first cards with equip appeared in Mirrodin. It was so flavorful and so popular, that it went evergreen instantaneously. Ninth Edition was the first core set to feature the keyword. [1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.6. Equip
    • 702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    • 702.6b For more information about Equipment, see rule 301, “Artifacts.”
    • 702.6c If a permanent has multiple instances of equip, any of its equip abilities may be activated.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

A keyword ability that lets a player attach an Equipment to a creature he or she controls. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.6, “Equip.”

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Whispersilk Cloak - {3}
    Artifact — Equipment
    Equipped creature is unblockable.
    Equipped creature has shroud. (It can't be the target of spells or abilities.)
    Equip {2} ({2}: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (June 8, 2015.) “Evergreen Eggs & Ham”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.