In the next few weeks, your wiki will be migrated to a domain. Learn more here.

En-Kor ability

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The en-Kor ability is an ability of creatures to redirect damage from them to another creature that you control instead. This can save them by directing the damage to a stronger creature that can withstand the damage. The ability is associated with the en-Kor and first appeared in Stronghold. Due to a cost of {0}, Mark Rosewater has stated that the en-Kor ability is unlikely to ever be revisited.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You may activate this ability any number of times, each time targeting any creature you control, whether or not any foreseeable damage would be dealt to the en-Kor creature.
  • You may target the en-Kor creature itself with this ability. However, unless something triggers when that creature becomes the target of an ability, this will have no noticeable effect.
  • If the targeted creature leaves play before the redirection shield is used, the damage is not redirected. It will be dealt to the en-Kor creature as normal.
  • Redirecting damage doesn't change its source. In other words, the en-Kor creature doesn't deal damage to the target of its ability—the original source of the damage does, no matter which creature it's dealt to.
  • If the damage that would be dealt to an en-Kor creature is combat damage or unpreventable damage, it will still be combat damage or unpreventable damage after it has been redirected.
  • At the time damage would be dealt to an en-Kor creature, its controller chooses which redirection and/or prevention shields to apply out of all the shields that have been created that turn. It doesn't matter what order they were created in. All such shields are applied at the same time.
  • Other effects that modify what happens if a source would deal damage, such as the one from Furnace of Rath, for example, will be applied only once. They won't apply both before and after the en-Kor's redirection effect, but you can choose whether they apply before or after.
  • You may redirect an amount of damage to a creature that's greater than its toughness. For example, if 3 damage would be dealt to an en-Kor creature, you may activate its ability three times targeting a 1/1 creature. All 3 damage will be redirected.
  • Redirection shields affect only damage that would actually be dealt to the en-Kor creature. For example, if Nomads en-Kor blocks a 4/4 creature with trample, and 1 damage was assigned to the Nomads and 3 damage was assigned to the defending player, the Nomads's ability could redirect only 1 damage. The damage assigned to the player is unaffected.
  • All damage has to be dealt (or prevented) eventually. If you control two en-Kor creatures, activating their abilities multiple times could redirect the same damage back and forth between them. At some point, however, those shields must be depleted and the damage will be dealt.

Examples[edit | edit source]


Outrider en-Kor {2}{W}
Creature — Kor Rebel Knight
Flanking (Whenever a creature without flanking blocks this creature, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.)
{0}: The next 1 damage that would be dealt to Outrider en-Kor this turn is dealt to target creature you control instead.

Creatures with en-Kor ability[edit | edit source]

There is a total of 6 cards that involve en-Kor ability, all of which are white.