Eminence

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Eminence
Introduced: Commander 2017
Last Used: Commander 2017
Typical Text: Eminence — (...) [if/ as long as] this creature is in the command zone or on the battlefield, ...
Statistics:
Gatherer search for "Eminence"

Eminence is an ability word introduced in Commander 2017 on legendary creatures.[1] It gives an advantageous tribal effect whether the creature is played as a Commander or as a creature.[2]

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Eminence grants some abilities to work as long as the creature is in the command zone or on the battlefield.
  • Three eminence abilities are triggered abilities. That creature must be on the battlefield or in the command zone as the trigger event occurs and also as the triggered ability resolves. If the creature is in an appropriate zone as the trigger event occurs but leaves that zone, the ability won't do anything as it resolves.
  • If your commander is on the battlefield and its eminence ability triggers, but it's put into the command zone before that ability resolves, that ability won't do anything as it resolves. This is because an object that changes zones is considered a new object.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • The Ur-Dragon - {4}{W}{U}{B}{R}{G}
    Creature — Dragon Avatar
    10/10
    Eminence — As long as The Ur-Dragon is in the command zone or on the battlefield, other Dragon spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.
    Flying
    Whenever one or more Dragons you control attack, draw that many cards, then you may put a permanent card from your hand onto the battlefield.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (August 7, 2017.) “Cats”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Wizards of the Coast. (August 11, 2017 .) “Magic: The Gathering — Commander (2017 Edition) Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.