We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Echo

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Echo
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Urza's Saga
Last Used: Time Spiral
Reminder Text: Echo (cost) (At the beginning of your upkeep, if this came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its echo cost.)
Statistics: 50 cards
{R}50% {G}26% {W}6% {B}4% {U}2%
Artifact 12%
Gatherer search for "Echo"

Echo is a keyword ability on permanents that requires the permanent's controller to pay its echo cost at the beginning of the player's next upkeep after he or she gains control of it, or sacrifice it.

Description[edit | edit source]

Echo first appeared in the Urza's block [1], but has since been revisited in the Time Spiral block.[2]

In the Urza's block, echo meant "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its mana cost," but this was changed in Time Spiral by instead giving all echo cards an "echo cost" that has to be paid to avoid sacrificing the permanent. This gives echo more potential design space, as it means cards can have an echo cost that is different from their mana cost. All Urza's Block cards with echo have now been given errata to give them echo costs equal to their mana costs.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.29. Echo
    • 702.29a Echo is a triggered ability. “Echo [cost]” means “At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay [cost].”
    • 702.29b Urza block cards with the echo ability were printed without an echo cost. These cards have been given errata in the Oracle card reference; each one now has an echo cost equal to its mana cost.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Echo
A keyword ability that imposes a cost to keep a permanent on the battlefield. See rule 702.29, “Echo.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Paying for echo is always optional. When the echo triggered ability resolves, if the controller of the permanent can't pay its echo cost, or chooses not to, that player sacrifices that permanent.
  • A permanent's echo ability will trigger during its controller's upkeep if it came into play since the beginning of its controller's last upkeep (including if it left play and came back during that time), or if its current controller took control of it since the beginning of his or her last upkeep.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Viashino Outrider - {2}{R}
    Creature — Viashino
    4/3
    Echo {2}{R} (At the beginning of your upkeep, if this came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay its echo cost.)

Creature that reduces Echo costs[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Brady Dommermuth. (June 01, 2009.) “Mechanically Inclined”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (March 12, 2007.) “You Can Say That Again”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.