Hello there! We are conducting a survey to better understand the user experience in making a first edit. If you have ever made an edit on Gamepedia, please fill out the survey. Thank you!
|Reminder Text||Double strike (This creature deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.)|
28.9% 1.2% 1.2% 38.6% 1.2% 1.2% 6% 10.8% 3.6% 3.6% 3.6%
Double strike is an evergreen keyword ability that allows a creature to deal combat damage twice per combat phase — once during the first combat damage step, along with any creatures that have first strike, and again during the second combat damage step along with creatures that have neither keyword.
It appears primarily in Red and in White, the two combat-trained colors already proficient with first strike. Even among cards that aren't red nor white, most still require in some way to utilize double strike.
History[edit | edit source]
Double strike was designed by Wayne Alward, a player who submitted it as a mechanic for the first You Make the Card promotion. Double strike was rejected for the card, which would later become Forgotten Ancient, because the mechanic didn't fit within Green's segment of the color wheel. Nonetheless, several R&D members were impressed with the design's elegance. Thus, double strike was adopted into Magic, upon which it became evergreen almost immediately.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- Double Strike
- A keyword ability that lets a creature deal its combat damage twice. See rule 702.4, “Double Strike.”
- 702.4. Double Strike
- 702.4a Double strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”)
- 702.4b If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.
- 702.4c Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step.
- 702.4d Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step.
- 702.4e Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Double strike isn't first strike. Effects that make a creature lose first strike won't make it lose double strike.
- Creatures with double strike and creatures with first strike deal combat damage in the first combat damage step.
- All creatures that didn't assign combat damage in the first combat damage step assign combat damage in the second combat damage step. In addition, all creatures with double strike assign combat damage again in the second step.
- If a creature has both double strike and trample, the combat damage it assigned during the first combat damage step will be considered when determining how much damage can trample through in the second combat damage step.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Human Soldier
Double strike (This creature deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.)
Cards that grant double strike[edit | edit source]
- Ajani, Caller of the Pride (-3: target creature)
- Domri Rade (-7: emblem, your creatures)
- Samut, the Tested (+1: target creature)
- Sorceries (until end of turn)
- Armed (Armed/Dangerous) (target creature, also +1/+1)
- Assault Strobe (target creature)
- Cleaver Riot (your creatures)
- Sangrite Surge (target creature, also +3/+3)
- Instants (until end of turn)
- Boros Charm (3rd mode)
- Double Cleave (your creatures)
- Psychotic Fury (multicoloured creature only)
- Temur Battle Rage (Ferocious — target creature also gets trample if you control a creature with power 4 or greater)
- Savage Beating (only during combat on your turn, your creatures (1st mode), also untap and have another combat if you pay its entwine cost of )
- Uncaged Fury (Target creature gets +1/+1 and gains double strike until end of turn. (It deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.))
- Atarka, World Render (whenever a dragon you control attacks, it gains double strike until end of turn)
- Avatar of Slaughter (all creatures, also attack each turn)
- Bonescythe Sliver (your Sliver creatures)
- Cairn Wanderer (if a creature card with double strike is in a graveyard)
- Fury Sliver (all Sliver creatures)
- Iizuka the Ruthless (, sacrifice a Samurai: your Samurai creatures)
- Kinsbaile Cavalier (your Knight creatures)
- Kwende, Pride of Femeref (your creatures with first strike)
- Rafiq of the Many (your creatures, when they attack alone)
- Raksha Golden Cub (your creatures if Raksha is equipped, also +2/+2)
- Silverblade Paladin (via Soulbond)
- Springjack Knight (if you win a clash when it attacks)
- Wrecking Ogre (via Bloodrush)
- Auras (enchanted creature)
- Armament of Nyx (enchantment creature only)
- Battle Mastery
- Ghostblade Eidolon (via bestow )
- Runes of the Deus (red creature only, also +1/+1)
- Enchantments (your creatures)
- Berserkers' Onslaught
- Concerted Effort (if one of your creatures has it, also several other abilities)
- Rage Reflection
- True Conviction (also lifelink)
- Equipment (equipped creature)
- Land ( until end of turn)
[edit | edit source]
- A Planeswalker's Primer for Magic 2010: First Strike and Double Strike (Video). Magic: The Gathering. YouTube.
- Anthony Alongi (September 16, 2003). "Seeing Double". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Wizards of the Coast (October 22, 2003). "Fun with double strike". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Randy Buehler (2003 January 17). "Double Damage, Double Fun". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (October 22, 2018). "How Trivial". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (2015 June 08). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.