We are currently performing an upgrade to our software. This upgrade will bring MediaWiki from version 1.31 to 1.33. While the upgrade is being performed on your wiki it will be in read-only mode. For more information check here.

Devour

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Devour
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Shards of Alara
Last Used Modern Horizons
Reminder Text Devour N (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)
Statistics 15 cards
{B} 6.7% {R} 40% {G} 26.7% {R/G} 20% {B/G} 6.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Devour"

Devour is a static ability first introduced in Shards of Alara[1]

History[edit | edit source]

Devour was also featured in Conflux, Alara Reborn, the Primordial Hunger deck of Planechase 2012, Commander 2015 and Modern Horizons[2].

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

Devour
A keyword ability that can have a creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it. See rule 702.81, “Devour.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 702.81. Devour
    • 702.81a Devour is a static ability. “Devour N” means “As this object enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it for each creature sacrificed this way.”
    • 702.81b Some objects have abilities that refer to the number of creatures the permanent devoured. “It devoured” means “sacrificed as a result of its devour ability as it entered the battlefield.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Devour appears only on creature cards.
  • A creature with devour can devour other creatures no matter how it enters the battlefield.
  • You may choose to not sacrifice any creatures.
  • If you cast a creature with devour as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example 1

Gorger Wurm {3}{R}{G}
Creature — Wurm
5/5
Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Example 2

Thromok the Insatiable {3}{R}{G}
Legendary Creature — Hellion
0/0
Devour X, where X is the number of creatures devoured this way (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it for each of those creatures.)

Plane card that grants Devour[edit | edit source]

  • Jund (whenever a player casts a black, red, or green creature spell - devour 5)

Trivia[edit | edit source]

  • Devour was featured as rules card 4 of 5 in the Shards of Alara set.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (September 15, 2008). "Shard Candy". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak (May 31, 2019). "Modern Horizons Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]