Dethrone

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Dethrone
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Conspiracy
Last Used: Conspiracy
Reminder Text: Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Statistics: 9 cards
{R}44% {U}22% Multicolored 33%
Gatherer search for "Dethrone"

Dethrone is a keyword found in the multiplayer Conspiracy set. Dethrone triggers whenever a creature with dethrone attacks the player with the most life or tied for the most life. When the ability resolves, you put a +1/+1 counter on the creature.[1][2][3]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.104. Dethrone
    • 702.104a Dethrone is a triggered ability. “Dethrone” means “Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.”
    • 702.104b If a creature has multiple instances of dethrone, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Dethrone
A keyword ability that puts a +1/+1 counter on a creature when it attacks the player with the most life. See rule 702.104, “Dethrone.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Dethrone doesn’t trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life.
  • Once dethrone triggers, it doesn’t matter what happens to the players’ life totals before the ability resolves. You’ll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn’t have the most life as the ability resolves.
  • The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks the team with the most life or tied for the most life.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Marchesa's Infiltrator - {2}{U}
    Creature — Human Rogue
    1/1
    Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
    Whenever Marchesa's Infiltrator deals combat damage to a player, draw a card.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak. (May 19, 2014.) “Mechanics of Conspiracy”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Sam Stoddard. (June 06, 2014.) “Conspiring For Fun”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Matt Tabak. (June 04, 2014.) “Conspiracy Release Notes”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.