We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.


From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Introduced: Return to Ravnica
Last Used: Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text: Detain (Until your next turn, that permanent can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)
Storm Scale: 3[1]
Statistics: 11 cards
{W}36% {W/U}36% {U}28%
Gatherer search for "Detain"

Detain is a keyword action that was introduced in Return to Ravnica as the guild mechanic of the Azorius guild.[2] Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with detain. In effect, for one round of turns, it is an Arrest or Faith's Fetters for any permanent.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 701.27. Detain
    • 701.27a Certain spells and abilities can detain a permanent. Until the next turn of the controller of that spell or ability, that permanent can’t attack or block and its activated abilities can’t be activated.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

A keyword action that temporarily stops a permanent from attacking, blocking, or having its activated abilities activated. See rule 701.27, “Detain.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it’s detained, it won’t be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • If a permanent’s activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won’t be able to attack or block.
  • When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Lyev Skyknight - {1}{W}{U}
    Creature — Human Knight
    When Lyev Skyknight enters the battlefield, detain target nonland permanent an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that permanent can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)''

References[edit | edit source]