|Introduced||Battle for Zendikar|
|Last Used||Battle for Zendikar|
|Typical Text||Converge — ... for each color of mana spent to cast it.|
12 cards |
33% 25% 8% 8% 8% 17%
The key difference between the similar Sunburst and Converge is that the first is a keyword with a static ability which is only permitted on creatures and artifacts while Converge is an ability word which can go on nonpermanent spells.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- You are limited to the mana cost of each spell. You can't use more (colorless) mana.
- If a spell with converge on the stack is copied, it's just created on the stack. No mana was spent to cast the copy, so zero colors of mana were spent to cast it.
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) "Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Tabak. (August 31, 2015.) "Battle for Zendikar Mechanics", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Ian Duke. (September 7, 2015.) "Converging on Zendikar", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Sam Stoddard. (September 18, 2015.) "Developing New Mechanics in a Returning World", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater. (September 03, 2015.) "What's the difference between Sunburst and Converge?", Blogatog, Tumblr.