Cohort

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Cohort
Ability Word
Introduced Oath of the Gatewatch
Last Used Oath of the Gatewatch
Typical Text Cohort{T}, Tap an untapped Ally you control: ...
Storm Scale 8[1]
Statistics 9 cards
{W}44% {B}33% {R}22%
Gatherer Search
Cohort

Cohort is an ability word introduced in Oath of the Gatewatch and associated with allies. [2] The activated ability requires tapping the ally creature and another ally.

Description[edit | edit source]

The cost of each cohort ability (tapping, and tapping another ally) is always the same but the effects differ wildly. Because the cost includes {T}, the Ally that has the cohort ability has to have been under your control since your most recent turn began. It can't have "summoning sickness." But the other Ally, the "an untapped Ally you control," could be one you just cast.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • To activate a cohort ability, the Ally with that ability must have been under your control continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn. Informally, it can’t have “summoning sickness.” However, the other Ally you tap can be one that just came under your control. (Note that tapping the second Ally doesn’t use {T} [the tap symbol].)

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Munda's Vanguard - {4}{W}
    Creature — Kor Knight Ally
    3/3
    Cohort{T}, Tap an untapped Ally you control: Put a +1/+1 counter on each creature you control.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Matt Tabak. (December 28, 2015.) “Oath of the Gatewatch Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
Promotional Content