Buyback

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Buyback
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Static (2nd ability)
Introduced Tempest
Last Used Future Sight
Reminder Text Buyback (cost) (You may pay an additional (cost) as you cast this spell. If the buyback cost was paid, put this spell into its owner’s hand instead of into that player’s graveyard as it resolves.)
Statistics 39 cards
{B}23% {U}23% {W}21% {R}18% {G}13%
Artifact 2%
Gatherer Search
Buyback

Buyback is a keyword ability that appears on instants and sorceries. It provides an optional additional cost that the player casting the spell with buyback may pay as he or she casts it. If the player does, as the spell finishes resolving, the spell card is put back into its owner's hand rather than into his or her graveyard.

Description[edit | edit source]

The first tournament-legal cards with buyback were printed during Tempest block. [1] One card, Capsize, was later reprinted as a Friday Night Magic promo in 2003. Several years later, a number of cards with buyback were printed in Time Spiral, along with a Timeshifted reprint of Whispers of the Muse.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Rivals of Ixalan (January 19, 2018))

  • 702.26. Buyback
    • 702.26a Buyback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities that function while the spell is on the stack. “Buyback [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell” and “If the buyback cost was paid, put this spell into its owner’s hand instead of into that player’s graveyard as it resolves.” Paying a spell’s buyback cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Rivals of Ixalan (January 19, 2018))

Buyback
A keyword ability of instants and sorceries that can let the spell return to its owner’s hand as it resolves. See rule 702.26, “Buyback.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Buyback is an additional cost. You choose whether to pay the buyback cost at the time you play the spell. If you choose to do so, then after the spell's effect happens, the spell will be returned to your hand instead of being put into your graveyard.
  • Buyback returns the spell to your hand only if the spell resolves. If the spell is countered, it goes to the graveyard as normal.
  • If you control a copy of a spell whose buyback cost was paid, the copy will be put into your hand as it resolves, then it will cease to exist.
  • Whether the spell is returned to your hand depends on whether the choice to pay buyback was made, not on the actual payment of buyback (in the unusual cases where cost-reduction effects mean the buyback cost isn't actually paid).
  • Buyback costs don't count toward a spell's mana cost or converted mana cost, whether they're paid or not.
  • If a spell with buyback somehow gains flashback (such as with Snapcaster Mage's ability), the buyback cost may be paid, but the card will still be exiled as it resolves due to flashback's replacement effect exiling it regardless of whether flashback or buyback is applied first.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Allay - {1}{W}
    Instant
    Buyback {3} (You may pay an additional {3} as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)
    Destroy target enchantment.
  • Constant Mists - {1}{G}
    Instant
    Buyback — Sacrifice a land. (You may sacrifice a land in addition to any other costs as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)
    Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt this turn.
  • Forbid - {1}{U}{U}
    Instant
    Buyback — Discard two cards. (You may discard two cards in addition to any other costs as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)
    Counter target spell.
  • Slaughter - {2}{B}{B}
    Instant
    Buyback — Pay 4 life. (You may pay 4 life in addition to any other costs as you cast this spell. If you do, put this card into your hand as it resolves.)
    Destroy target nonblack creature. It can't be regenerated.

Artifact that reduces Buyback costs[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Brady Dommermuth. (June 01, 2009.) “Mechanically Inclined”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
Promotional Content