Bushido

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Bushido
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Champions of Kamigawa
Last Used Saviors of Kamigawa
Reminder Text Bushido N (Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of turn.)
Statistics 36 cards
{W}56% {R}25% {B}17% {G}3%
Gatherer Search
Bushido

Bushido is a triggered keyword ability that makes creatures bigger if they block or are blocked. It appeared in the Kamigawa block as an ability associated with the Samurai creature type, and the ability has only appeared on Samurai creature cards, with the exception of Greater Morphling from the tournament-prohibited Unhinged set. Some cards from other sets (such as Chub Toad from Ice Age) have similar abilities, but do not use the bushido keyword.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

  • 702.44. Bushido
    • 702.44a Bushido is a triggered ability. "Bushido N" means "Whenever this creature blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +N/+N until end of turn." (See rule 509, "Declare Blockers Step.")
    • 702.44b If a creature has multiple instances of bushido, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

Bushido
A keyword ability that can make a creature better in combat. See rule 702.44, "Bushido."

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The bushido ability doesn't care how many creatures are blocking the creature with bushido. For example, a creature with bushido 1 that's blocked by three creatures still gets only +1/+1.[1]

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Devoted Retainer - {W}
    Creature — Human Samurai
    1/1
    Bushido 1 (When this blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
  • Inner-Chamber Guard - {1}{W}
    Creature — Human Samurai
    0/2
    Bushido 2 (When this blocks or becomes blocked, it gets +2/+2 until end of turn.)

Creature that grants Bushido[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]