Hello there! We are conducting a survey to better understand the user experience in making a first edit. If you have ever made an edit on Gamepedia, please fill out the survey. Thank you!
|Last Used||Magic 2012|
|Reminder Text||Bloodthirst N (If an opponent was dealt damage this turn, this permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it.)|
18.2% 36.4% 31.8% 13.6%
Bloodthirst is a keyword ability. It appeared in the Ravnica block as the ability associated with the Gruul guild of the Guildpact set, and later also appeared in Magic 2012. It works by putting a number of +1/+1 counters on a permanent (so far only creatures) as it enters the battlefield, if an opponent has been dealt damage that turn.
Rules[edit | edit source]
- A keyword ability that can have a creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it. See rule 702.53, “Bloodthirst.”
- 702.53. Bloodthirst
- 702.53a Bloodthirst is a static ability. “Bloodthirst N” means “If an opponent was dealt damage this turn, this permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it.”
- 702.53b “Bloodthirst X” is a special form of bloodthirst. “Bloodthirst X” means “This permanent enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the total damage your opponents have been dealt this turn.”
- 702.53c If an object has multiple instances of bloodthirst, each applies separately.
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Bloodthirst checks for any kind of damage, including combat damage.
- Life loss that isn't caused by damage (for example, the life loss caused by Blood Seeker's ability) doesn't cause a creature with bloodthirst to get counters, but damage from a source with infect (a mechanic from the Scars of Mirrodin block) does, even though it doesn't cause loss of life.
- It doesn't matter who controlled the source of the damage dealt to your opponent. If an opponent was dealt damage by a source they controlled (such as Manabarbs, for example), creatures with bloodthirst that enter the battlefield under your control later that turn will get +1/+1 counters.
- The creature with bloodthirst enters the battlefield with the +1/+1 counters already on it. For example, a 1/1 creature that enters the battlefield with two +1/+1 counters on it will enter as a 3/3 creature, not as a 1/1 creature that then becomes 3/3.
- "Bloodthirst X" doesn't appear on any Magic 2012 cards.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature — Beast
Bloodthirst 1 (If an opponent was dealt damage this turn, this creature enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Sacrifice Gristleback: You gain life equal to Gristleback's power.
Creature — Elemental Warrior
This spell can’t be countered.
Bloodthirst X (This creature enters the battlefield with X +1/+1 counters on it, where X is the damage dealt to your opponents this turn.)
Protection from instants
Bloodlord of Vaasgoth
Creature — Vampire Warrior
Bloodthirst 3 (If an opponent was dealt damage this turn, this creature enters the battlefield with three +1/+1 counters on it.)
Whenever you cast a Vampire creature spell, it gains bloodthirst 3.
Creature that grants Bloodthirst[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater (May 2, 2016). "Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Aaron Forsythe (February 03, 2006). "Gruuling Workout". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (June 27, 2011). "Putting On a Core Set". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Tom LaPille (July 08, 2011). "Bloodthirst in the Water". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Doug Beyer (August 03, 2011). "The Bloodthirsty Chef". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.