In the next few weeks, your wiki will be migrated to a Fandom.com domain. Learn more here.

Bestow

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Bestow
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Static (2nd ability)
Introduced Theros
Last Used Commander 2018
Reminder Text Bestow [cost] (If you cast this card for its bestow cost, it's an Aura spell with enchant creature. It becomes a creature again if it's not attached to a creature.)
Statistics 35 cards
{W} 22.9% {U} 17.1% {B} 22.9% {R} 14.3% {G} 17.1% {M} 5.7%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Bestow"

Bestow is a keyword ability introduced in Theros, where it was connected to the god theme of the set.

Description[edit | edit source]

A creature with bestow gives you the option to cast it as an Aura that enchants a creature, granting the enchanted creature the power, toughness, and abilities of the creature with bestow.[1] Bestow is also featured in the rest of the Theros block.[2]

When a card with bestow is in your hand, you have two options: cast it normally for its mana cost, or cast it for its bestow cost. If you cast a bestow card normally, it's an enchantment creature spell that resolves and becomes an enchantment creature on the battlefield. Its bestow ability and its "Enchanted creature gets..." text are ignored.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

Bestow
A keyword ability that lets a creature card be cast as an Aura. See rule 702.102, “Bestow.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 20, 2020—Commander Legends)

  • 702.102. Bestow
    • 702.102a Bestow represents a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. “Bestow [cost]” means “As you cast this spell, you may choose to cast it bestowed. If you do, you pay [cost] rather than its mana cost.” Casting a spell using its bestow ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs (see 601.2b and 601.2f–h).
    • 702.102b As a spell cast bestowed is put onto the stack, it becomes an Aura enchantment and gains enchant creature. It is a bestowed Aura spell, and the permanent it becomes as it resolves will be a bestowed Aura. These effects last until the spell or the permanent it becomes ceases to be bestowed (see rules 702.102d–f). Because the spell is an Aura spell, its controller must choose a legal target for that spell as defined by its enchant creature ability and rule 601.2c. See also rule 303.4.
    • 702.102c When casting a spell bestowed, only its characteristics as modified by the bestow ability are evaluated to determine if it can be cast.

      Example: Aether Storm is an enchantment with the ability “Creature spells can’t be cast.” This effect doesn’t stop a creature card with bestow from being cast bestowed.

      Example: Garruk’s Horde says, in part, “You may cast creature spells from the top of your library.” If you control Garruk’s Horde and the top card of your library is a creature card with bestow, you can cast it as a creature spell, but you can’t cast it bestowed.

    • 702.102d As a bestowed Aura spell begins resolving, if its target is illegal, it ceases to be bestowed and the effect making it an Aura spell ends. It continues resolving as a creature spell and will be put onto the battlefield under the control of the spell’s controller. This is an exception to rule 608.3a.
    • 702.102e If a bestowed Aura becomes unattached, it ceases to be bestowed. If a bestowed Aura is attached to an illegal object or player, it becomes unattached and ceases to be bestowed. This is an exception to rule 704.5m.
    • 702.102f If a bestowed Aura phases in unattached, it ceases to be bestowed. See rule 702.25, “Phasing.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • On the stack, a spell with bestow is either a creature spell or an Aura spell. It's never both.
  • Unlike other Aura spells, an Aura spell with bestow isn't countered if its target is illegal as it begins to resolve. Rather, the effect making it an Aura spell ends, it loses enchant creature, it returns to being an enchantment creature spell, and it resolves and enters the battlefield as an enchantment creature.
  • Unlike other Auras, an Aura with bestow isn't put into its owner's graveyard if it becomes unattached. Rather, the effect making it an Aura ends, it loses enchant creature, and it remains on the battlefield as an enchantment creature. It can attack (and its Tap abilities can be activated, if it has any) on the turn it becomes unattached if it's been under your control continuously, even as an Aura, since your most recent turn began.
  • If a permanent with bestow enters the battlefield by any method other than being cast, it will be an enchantment creature. You can't choose to pay the bestow cost and have it become an Aura.
  • Auras attached to a creature don't become tapped when the creature becomes tapped. Except in some rare cases, an Aura with bestow remains untapped when it becomes unattached and becomes a creature.

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Thassa's Emissary {3}{U}
Enchantment Creature — Crab
3/3
Bestow {5}{U} (If you cast this card for its bestow cost, it's an Aura spell with enchant creature. It becomes a creature again if it's not attached to a creature.)
Whenever Thassa's Emissary or enchanted creature deals combat damage to a player, draw a card.
Enchanted creature gets +3/+3.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Magicthegathering.com Staff (September 02, 2013). "The Mechanics of Theros". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Sam Stoddard (January 24, 2014). "Widening the Field". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.