We have begun migration of most wikis to our new host, Amazon Web Services. All but the top 100 wikis are in read-only mode until the migration is complete. Estimated completion: TBD -- Update: Fri 10/20 11pm UTC - We have encountered some unexpected issues. Our staff is working around the clock to complete this process as quickly as possible. Thank you for your patience.

Aura swap

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Aura Swap
Type: Activated
Introduced: Future Sight
Last Used: Future Sight
Reminder Text: Aura swap (cost) ((Cost): Exchange this Aura with an Aura card in your hand.)
Statistics: 1 card
{U}100%
Gatherer search for "Aura Swap"

Aura swap is a keyword ability. It lets you exchange an Aura that has it for an Aura in your hand. It was first introduced in Future Sight. By nature, this is a blue ability and it has only been printed on one Aura so far, Arcanum Wings.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.64. Aura Swap
    • 702.64a Aura swap is an activated ability of some Aura cards. “Aura swap [cost]” means “[Cost]: You may exchange this permanent with an Aura card in your hand.”
    • 702.64b If either half of the exchange can’t be completed, the ability has no effect.

      Example: You activate the aura swap ability of an Aura. The only Aura card in your hand can’t enchant the permanent that’s enchanted by the Aura with aura swap. The ability has no effect.

      Example: You activate the aura swap ability of an Aura that you control but you don’t own. The ability has no effect.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Aura Swap
A keyword ability that lets you exchange an Aura on the battlefield with one in your hand. See rule 702.64, “Aura Swap.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • As the aura swap ability resolves, you may choose an Aura card in your hand. If you decide not to choose one (or don't have one), nothing happens. If you do choose one, the game checks whether that Aura can enchant the enchanted permanent as it currently exists (while the Aura with aura swap is still on the battlefield). If it can't, nothing happens. If it can, and the Aura with aura swap is still on the battlefield, and you own the Aura with aura swap, then the Aura with aura swap is put into your hand and the chosen Aura is put onto the battlefield attached to that permanent.
  • The exchange is simultaneous. At no time will the permanent be enchanted by both Auras or by neither Aura.
  • If a non-Aura somehow gains aura swap, the ability will do nothing when it resolves. The Aura in your hand can't be put onto the battlefield enchanting nothing, so the exchange doesn't happen.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Arcanum Wings - {1}{U}
    Enchantment — Aura
    Enchant creature
    Enchanted creature has flying.
    Aura swap {2}{U} ({2}{U}: Exchange this Aura with an Aura card in your hand.)