Hello there! We are conducting a survey to better understand the user experience in making a first edit. If you have ever made an edit on Gamepedia, please fill out the survey. Thank you!
|(Subtype for enchantment cards)|
0.2% 21.5% 24% 18.7% 14.7% 15.3% 1.2% 0.5% 0.2% 0.2% 0.9% 0.5% 0.3% 0.2% 0.2% 0.5% 0.5%
Aura is an enchantment subtype that has the text "enchant [type or player; restriction]". Formerly, Auras were known as "local enchantments" or "enchant [type]" cards. The name was introduced in Ninth Edition.
Putting an Aura on one of your creatures opens you up to getting two-for-one'd. Any removal spell could remove two of your cards: both the creature and the Aura on it. A bounce spell can also put the Aura into the graveyard, making it "fall off."
Rules[edit | edit source]
- 303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype “Aura.” An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is defined by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
- 303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.
- 303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player.
- 303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
- 303.4d An Aura can’t enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. An Aura that’s also a creature can’t enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owner’s graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura can’t enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Aura’s controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.
- 303.4e An Aura’s controller is separate from the enchanted object’s controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesn’t change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Aura’s controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with “gains” or “has”), the enchanted object’s controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
- 303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a player’s control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesn’t specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Aura’s enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
- 303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.
- 303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.
- 303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield attached to an object or player it can’t legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. If the Aura is a token, it isn’t created.
- 303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it can’t legally enchant, the Aura doesn’t move.
- 303.4k An ability of a permanent that refers to the “enchanted [object or player]” refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isn’t an Aura.
- 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.
- An enchantment subtype. Aura spells target objects or players, and Aura permanents are attached to objects or players. See rule 303, “Enchantments,” and rule 702.5, “Enchant.”
Aura tokens[edit | edit source]
|White||Enchantment — Aura||Enchant permanent
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Gottlieb (July 29, 2005). "Aura Hygiene". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater (June 7, 2010). "Disadvantaged". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Tom LaPille (June 11, 2010). "Potpaurai". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Doug Beyer (June 9, 2010). "Auratouched Magery". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- Gavin Verhey (May 24, 2017). "Enhancing Your Game". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.