Attach

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Attach
Keyword Action
Introduced Mirrodin
Last Used Evergreen
Reminder Text No official reminder text
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Attach"

Attach is a keyword action. It was first used in Mirrodin to allow Equipment to target creatures when being "put on." In trying to clean up Auras in Ninth Edition, it was important for enchantments to also have a word so it was decided by R&D to let Auras use the same word Equipment used instead of "move".[1]

Blue is the primary color of moving attached things.[2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Attach
To move an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto another object or player. See rule 701.3, “Attach.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

  • 701.3. Attach
    • 701.3a To attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object or player means to take it from where it currently is and put it onto that object or player. If something is attached to a permanent on the battlefield, it’s customary to place it so that it’s physically touching the permanent. An Aura, Equipment, or Fortification can’t be attached to an object or player it couldn’t enchant, equip, or fortify, respectively.
    • 701.3b If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object or player it can’t be attached to, the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification doesn’t move. If an effect tries to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to the object or player it’s already attached to, the effect does nothing. If an effect tries to attach an object that isn’t an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to another object or player, the effect does nothing and the first object doesn’t move.
    • 701.3c Attaching an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification on the battlefield to a different object or player causes the Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to receive a new timestamp.
    • 701.3d To “unattach” an Equipment from a creature means to move it away from that creature so the Equipment is on the battlefield but is not equipping anything. It should no longer be physically touching any creature. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification that was attached to an object or player ceases to be attached to it, that counts as “becoming unattached [from that object or player]”; this includes if that Aura, Equipment, or Fortification leaves the battlefield, the object leaves the zone it was in, or that player leaves the game.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 12, 2019—Core Set 2020)

Unattach
To move an Equipment away from the creature it’s attached to so that the Equipment is on the battlefield but is not equipping anything. See rule 701.3d.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (June 5, 2017). "Mechanical Color Pie 2017". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.