Assemble

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Assemble
Keyword Action
Introduced Future Sight
Last Used Unstable
Reminder Text Assemble (To assemble a Contraption, put the top card of your Contraption deck face up onto one of your sprockets.)
Gatherer Search
Assemble

Assemble is a keyword action introduced as a joke in Future Sight and related to Contraptions. [1][2][3] It was greatly expanded up in Unstable, where it was of the main silver-bordered mechanics. Contraptions may be assembled by players and/or Creatures (Riggers).[3]

Description[edit | edit source]

To assemble a Contraption means putting the top card of your Contraption deck face up onto one of your three sprockets.

There is no functional difference between players assembling a contraption, and creatures assembling a contraption.[4] Steamflogger Boss however, only cares about Contraptions assembled by creatures.

Reassemble[edit | edit source]

Reassemble is a related keyword, featured on Suspicious Nanny and Cogmentor. It means (to gain control) and move it onto (another) one of your sprockets. You don't have to advance it in the normal direction.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

It was stated that this mechanic and Contraptions were meant as a joke.[5] Forsythe's statement ensured that players wanted it and they've bugged Mark Rosewater about it ever since. Thus, Rosewater vowed to figure out contraptions' design before he would retire.[6]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Guilds of Ravnica (October 5, 2018))

  • 701.40. Assemble
    • 701.40a Assemble is a keyword action in the Unstable set that puts Contraptions onto the battlefield. Outside of silver-bordered cards, only one card (Steamflogger Boss) refers to assembling a Contraption. Cards and mechanics from the Unstable set aren’t included in these rules. See the Unstable FAQ for more information.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Guilds of Ravnica (October 5, 2018))

Assemble
Assemble is a keyword action in the Unstable set that puts Contraptions onto the battlefield. Cards and mechanics from the Unstable set aren’t included in these rules.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • If a card instruct you or a creature you control to assemble a Contraption, but your Contraption deck is empty, then nothing happens.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Steamflogger of the Month - {3}{R}{R}
    Creature — Goblin Rigger
    3/3
    When Steamflogger of the Month enters the battlefield, it assembles a Contraption for each Contraption you control. (To assemble a Contraption, put the top card of your Contraption deck face up onto one of your sprockets.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak. (November 13, 2017.) “Unstable Mechanics”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (November 13, 2017.) “The Un-Ending Saga, Part 2”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. a b c Mark Rosewater. (November 22, 2017.) “Unstable FAQAWASLFAQPAFTIDAWABIAJTBT”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (November 22, 2017.) "What is the difference between players assembling a contraption, and creatures assembling a contraption?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
  5. Aaron Forsythe. (May 4, 2007.) “Are You From the Future?”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Mark Rosewater. (August 28, 2016.) "What are contraptions?", Blogatog, Tumblr.
Promotional Content