As though

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

As Though
Text used to indicate that the game, for some specific purpose, treats a condition as true even though it’s not. See rule 609.4.

From the Comprehensive Rules (October 4, 2019—Throne of Eldraine)

  • 609.4. Some effects state that a player may do something “as though” some condition were true or a creature can do something “as though” some condition were true. This applies only to the stated effect. For purposes of that effect, treat the game exactly as if the stated condition were true. For all other purposes, treat the game normally.
    • 609.4a If two effects state that a player may (or a creature can) do the same thing “as though” different conditions were true, both conditions could apply. If one “as though” effect satisfies the requirements for another “as though” effect, then both effects will apply.

      Example: A player controls Vedalken Orrery, an artifact that says “You may cast nonland cards as though they had flash.” That player casts Shaman’s Trance, an instant that says, in part, “You may play cards from other players’ graveyards as though they were in your graveyard.” The player may cast a sorcery with flashback from another player’s graveyard as though it were in that player’s graveyard and as though it had flash.

    • 609.4b If an effect allows a player to spend mana “as though it were mana of any [type or color],” this affects only how the player may pay a cost. It doesn’t change that cost, and it doesn’t change what mana was actually spent to pay that cost.