From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Artifacts)
Jump to: navigation, search
The Future Sight symbol for Artifact cards.

Artifacts are permanents that represent magical items, animated constructs, pieces of equipment, or other objects and devices.[1] Up until the introduction of the colorless, non-artifact Eldrazi cards in the Rise of the Eldrazi set, artifacts were distinct from other card types in that they were the only existing cards that had wholly generic mana costs[2] (meaning they can be cast using any type of mana), excluding certain cards which cost {0}.

"Artifacts matter" has been a major mechanical theme of several sets and blocks. These include Antiquities, the Urza's block (Artifacts Cycle), the Mirrodin block, the Esper shard of the Alara block, the Scars of Mirrodin block, the Kaladesh block, and the historic mechanic from Dominaria.

Variations[edit | edit source]

Many artifacts are also creatures. They can attack and defend like other creatures and are affected by anything that affects creatures (or artifacts).

Mirrodin introduced colored activation costs for artifacts.[3]

Colored artifacts have colored mana costs. The Dissension expansion introduced the concept of colored artifacts with Transguild Courier, which did not not yet require colored mana to cast.[4] The Future Sight expansion's Sarcomite Myr was the first and only artifact card at the time of the set's release to require colored mana for its casting cost. The Shadowmoor expansion's Reaper King was the first artifact card with a hybrid mana cost that contained colored mana symbols, but which enabled players to not have to pay any colored mana to cast the card due to the specifics of the card's hybrid mana cost.

The use of colored artifacts as a game concept was taken even further in Esper shard theme of Shards of Alara, which was the first expansion to contain many artifacts that require specific colors of mana to cast, and the entire Alara block prominently features colored artifacts that require colored mana to cast. Colored artifacts returned in New Phyrexia[5] and in a minor capacity in the third Artifact block, Kaladesh.[6]

Colors' interaction with artifacts[edit | edit source]

Friendly to artifacts[edit | edit source]

Blue loves artifacts and, as such, is the primary color that interacts the most with them.[7] White's interaction is mostly with Equipment, while red often likes to use artifacts as a resource.

Unfriendly to artifacts[edit | edit source]

Artifact destruction most frequently occurs in Green or Red, and occasionally in white. Green is also the color which receives protection from artifacts. Green rarely interacts with artifacts positively. Red tends to be the color to gain benefit from sacrificing artifacts. Of the five colors, black generally has the fewest cards that interact on any level with artifacts, with almost all of those cards coming in "artifacts matter" sets.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

  • 301. Artifacts
    • 301.1. A player who has priority may cast an artifact card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty. Casting an artifact as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, "Casting Spells.")
    • 301.2. When an artifact spell resolves, its controller puts it onto the battlefield under their control.
    • 301.3. Artifact subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: "Artifact - Equipment." Artifact subtypes are also called artifact types. Artifacts may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3g for the complete list of artifact types.
    • 301.4. Artifacts have no characteristics specific to their card type. Most artifacts have no colored mana symbols in their mana costs, and are therefore colorless. However, there is no correlation between being colorless and being an artifact: artifacts may be colored, and colorless objects may be card types other than artifact.
    • 301.5. Some artifacts have the subtype "Equipment." An Equipment can be attached to a creature. It can't legally be attached to an object that isn't a creature.
      • 301.5a The creature an Equipment is attached to is called the "equipped creature." The Equipment is attached to, or "equips," that creature.
      • 301.5b An Equipment is cast and enters the battlefield just like any other artifact. An Equipment doesn't enter the battlefield attached to a creature. The equip keyword ability attaches the Equipment to a creature you control (see rule 702.6, "Equip"). Control of the creature matters only when the equip ability is activated and when it resolves. Spells and other abilities may also attach an Equipment to a creature. If an effect attempts to attach an Equipment to an object that can't be equipped by it, the Equipment doesn't move.
      • 301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. An Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains on the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) An Equipment can't equip more than one creature. If a spell or ability would cause an Equipment to equip more than one creature, the Equipment's controller chooses which creature it equips.
      • 301.5d An Equipment's controller is separate from the equipped creature's controller; the two need not be the same. Changing control of the creature doesn't change control of the Equipment, and vice versa. Only the Equipment's controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Equipment grants an ability to the equipped creature (with "gains" or "has"), the equipped creature's controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
      • 301.5e An ability of a permanent that refers to the "equipped creature" refers to whatever creature that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isn't an Equipment.
    • 301.6. Some artifacts have the subtype "Fortification." A Fortification can be attached to a land. It can't legally be attached to an object that isn't a land. Fortification's analog to the equip keyword ability is the fortify keyword ability. Rules 301.5a-e apply to Fortifications in relation to lands just as they apply to Equipment in relation to creatures, with one clarification relating to rule 301.5c: a Fortification that's also a creature (not a land) can't fortify a land. (See rule 702.66, "Fortify.")
    • 301.7. Some artifacts have the subtype "Vehicle." Vehicles have a crew ability, which allows them to become artifact creatures. See rule 702.121, "Crew."
      • 301.7a Each Vehicle has a printed power and toughness, but it has these characteristics only if it's also a creature. See rule 208.3.
      • 301.7b If a Vehicle becomes a creature, it immediately has its printed power and toughness. Other effects, including the effect that makes it a creature, may modify these values or set them to different values.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

A card type. An artifact is a permanent. See rule 301, "Artifacts."

Subtypes[edit | edit source]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

Artifact Type
A subtype that's correlated to the artifact card type. See rule 301, "Artifacts." See rule 205.3g for the list of artifact types.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

  • 205.3g Artifacts have their own unique set of subtypes; these subtypes are called artifact types. The artifact types are Clue, Contraption, Equipment (see rule 301.5), Fortification (see rule 301.6), Treasure, and Vehicle (see rule 301.7).

Clue[edit | edit source]

Clue is a subtype unique to tokens created by Investigate.

Contraption[edit | edit source]

Contraption was only mentioned on Steamflogger Boss until Unstable featured cards with this subtype.[8][9] They are played from a seperate Contraption deck.

Equipment[edit | edit source]

Equipment cards enter the battlefield just like any other artifact, but may be attached to creatures using their Equip ability. Unlike Auras, however, if an Equipment is attached to a creature and the creature leaves the battlefield, the Equipment remains on the battlefield.

Fortification[edit | edit source]

Fortifications act just like Equipment above, except that fortifications attach to lands using Fortify.

Treasure[edit | edit source]

Treasure is a subtype unique to tokens created by some cards from Ixalan block.

Vehicle[edit | edit source]

Vehicle is an artifact which can temporary become an artifact creature by assigning a crew.[10]

Artifact tokens[edit | edit source]

Token Color Type P/T Additional Rules Source Printings
Clue Colorless Artifact — Clue {2}, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.
named Stoneforged Blade
Colorless Artifact — Equipment Indestructible
Equipped creature gets +5/+5 and has double strike.
Equip {0}
Treasure Colorless Artifact — Treasure {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.
named Etherium Cell
Colorless Artifact {T}, Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.
named Gold
Colorless Artifact Sacrifice this artifact: Add one mana of any color.
named Land Mine
Colorless Artifact {R}, Sacrifice this artifact: This artifact deals 2 damage to target attacking creature without flying.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Zvi Mowshowitz. (February 28, 2005.) "The Top 50 Artifacts of All Time",, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (February 28, 2005.) "Just the Artifacts, Ma’am",, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Randy Buehler. (October 3, 2003.) "Artifacts and Color",, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Magic Arcana. (April 25, 2006.) "The Gold Artifact",, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (April 25, 2011.) "Phyrexian Powers: International Mana Mystery",, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Sam Stoddard. (September 30, 2016.) "Artifacts and Color Identity",, Wizards of the Coast.
  7. Mark Rosewater. (June 5, 2017.) "Mechanical Color Pie 2017",, Wizards of the Coast.
  8. Matt Tabak. (November 13, 2017.) "Unstable Mechanics",, Wizards of the Coast.
  9. Mark Rosewater. (November 13, 2017.) "The Un-Ending Saga, Part 2",, Wizards of the Coast.
  10. Matt Tabak. (September 2, 2016.) "Kaladesh Mechanics",, Wizards of the Coast.
  11. Shawn Main. (June 30, 2014.) "Working with Some of the Best Minds in Gaming",, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]