From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Rise of the Eldrazi
Last Used Rise of the Eldrazi
Reminder Text Annihilator N (Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices N permanents.)
Storm Scale 9[1]
Statistics 10 cards
Gatherer Search

Annihilator is a triggered ability introduced in Rise of the Eldrazi that appears on all the colorless Eldrazi creatures from that set. According to Mark Rosewater, it is unlikely to be reused.[2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Annihilator only appears on colorless Eldrazi creatures, and on a single colorless Eldrazi Aura, Eldrazi Conscription. The mechanic serves two purposes: it helps break the large board stalls that can occur in Rise of the Eldrazi games, and it demonstrates the storyline idea of the Eldrazi as extremely powerful destroyers of planes in an in-game mechanic.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Guilds of Ravnica (October 5, 2018))

  • 702.85. Annihilator
    • 702.85a Annihilator is a triggered ability. “Annihilator N” means “Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices N permanents.”
    • 702.85b If a creature has multiple instances of annihilator, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Guilds of Ravnica (October 5, 2018))

A keyword ability that can make a creature particularly brutal when it attacks. See rule 702.85, “Annihilator.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The defending player is the player that the creature with annihilator is attacking, or the controller of the planeswalker that the creature with annihilator is attacking.
  • Annihilator abilities trigger and resolve during the declare attackers step. The defending player chooses and sacrifices the required number of permanents before he or she declares blockers. Any creatures sacrificed this way won't be able to block.
  • If a creature with annihilator is attacking a planeswalker, and the defending player chooses to sacrifice that planeswalker, the attacking creature continues to attack. It may be blocked. If it isn't blocked, it simply won't deal combat damage to anything.
  • In a Two-Headed Giant game, the controller of an attacking creature with annihilator chooses which of the defending players is affected by the ability. Only that player sacrifices permanents. The choice is made as the ability resolves; once a player is chosen, it's too late for anyone to respond.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Ulamog's Crusher - {8}
    Creature — Eldrazi
    Annihilator 2 (Whenever this creature attacks, defending player sacrifices two permanents.)
    Ulamog's Crusher attacks each turn if able.

External links[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 21, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Zendikar and Battle for Zendikar”,, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (February 22, 2014.) "Annihilator a returning mechanic on the storm scale?", Blogatog, Tumblr.