Afterlife

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Afterlife
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Ravnica Allegiance
Last Used Ravnica Allegiance
Reminder Text Afterlife N (When this creature dies, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token(s) with flying.)
Statistics 10 cards
{W}40% {B}30% {W/B}30%
Gatherer Search
Afterlife

Afterlife is a keyword ability found on creatures. Similar to Doomed Traveler from Innistrad, it was introduced as a mechanic in Ravnica Allegiance for the Orzhov Syndicate.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Afterlife is a triggered ability and includes a number. When the creature with afterlife dies it creates that number of 1/1 black and white Spirit creature token with flying.

Afterlife triggers only when the creature dies, meaning "goes to the graveyard from the battlefield." If it's exiled directly from the battlefield or similar, afterlife won't trigger.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

  • 702.134. Afterlife
    • 702.134a Afterlife is a triggered ability. "Afterlife N" means "When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature tokens with flying."
    • 702.134b If a permanent has multiple instances of afterlife, each triggers separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))

Afterlife
A keyword ability that leaves behind Spirit creature tokens when certain creatures die. See rule 702.134, "Afterlife."

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Because blockers are chosen all at once, you can't block with a creature with afterlife, wait for it to die, then block with the resulting Spirit tokens.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Imperious Oligarch - {W}{B}
    Creature — Human Cleric
    2/1
    Vigilance
    Afterlife 1 (When this creature dies, create a 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token with flying.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak. (December 17, 2018.) "Ravnica Allegiance Mechanics", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (January 2, 2019.) "Building Allegiances, Part 1", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.