Afterlife N (When this creature dies, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token(s) with flying.)|
10 cards |
40% 30% 30%
Afterlife is a keyword ability found on creatures. Similar to Doomed Traveler from Innistrad, it was introduced as a mechanic in Ravnica Allegiance for the Orzhov Syndicate.
Afterlife is a triggered ability and includes a number. When the creature with afterlife dies it creates that number of 1/1 black and white Spirit creature token with flying.
Afterlife triggers only when the creature dies, meaning "goes to the graveyard from the battlefield." If it's exiled directly from the battlefield or similar, afterlife won't trigger.
From the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))
- 702.134. Afterlife
- 702.134a Afterlife is a triggered ability. "Afterlife N" means "When this permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, create N 1/1 white and black Spirit creature tokens with flying."
- 702.134b If a permanent has multiple instances of afterlife, each triggers separately.
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ravnica Allegiance (January 25, 2019))
- A keyword ability that leaves behind Spirit creature tokens when certain creatures die. See rule 702.134, "Afterlife."
- Because blockers are chosen all at once, you can't block with a creature with afterlife, wait for it to die, then block with the resulting Spirit tokens.
- Imperious Oligarch -
Creature — Human Cleric
Afterlife 1 (When this creature dies, create a 1/1 white and black Spirit creature token with flying.)