Addendum

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Addendum
Ability Word
Introduced Ravnica Allegiance
Last Used Ravnica Allegiance
Typical Text Addendum — If you cast this spell during your main phase, ...
Statistics 9 cards
{W} 44.4% {U} 33.3% {W/U} 22.2%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Addendum"

Addendum is an ability word introduced in Ravnica Allegiance for the Azorius Senate.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Spells with Addendum have additional or alternative effects if you cast the spell during your main phase. Addendum is found mostly on instants. The exception is Sentinel's Mark, which is an enchantment.

History[edit | edit source]

A similar cycle of "main phase matters" instants had previously been featured in Time Spiral.[3]

Examples[edit | edit source]

Example

Sphinx's Insight {2}{W}{U}
Instant
Draw two cards.
Addendum — If you cast this spell during your main phase, you gain 2 life.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Addendum abilities of instant spells apply while the spell is resolving, not immediately after casting it. If the spell is countered, you don't get the addendum bonus. For example, if you cast Sphinx's Insight during your main phase, you gain 2 life during its resolution, after you draw two cards.
  • If a spell with an addendum ability is copied, the copy won't give you the addendum bonus. This is because the copy wasn't cast at all.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Tabak (December 17, 2018). "Ravnica Allegiance Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (January 7, 2019). "Building Allegiances, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Mark Rosewater (December 21, 2018). "Isnt the azorius mechanic the returning one from...". Blogatog. Tumblr.