Adapt

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Adapt
Keyword Action
Introduced Ravnica Allegiance
Last Used Ravnica Allegiance
Reminder Text [cost]: Adapt N (If this creature has no +1/+1 counters on it, put N +1/+1 counter(s) on it.)
Statistics 12 cards
{U} 33.3% {G} 33.3% {G/U} 33.3%
Scryfall Search
oracle:"Adapt"

Adapt is a keyword action introduced in Ravnica Allegiance for the Simic Combine.[1][2]

Description[edit | edit source]

Adapt is tweaked version of Monstrosity.[3] It is written as Adapt N, where N is any natural number. If a creature has no +1/+1 counters on it, you may pay the adapt cost to put N +1/+1 counters on that creature. In contrast to Monstrosity, if a creature somehow loses its +1/+1 counters, it can adapt again and pick up more.[4][5] Alternatively one can place counters in response to the activation to stop the creature from getting N counters.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (War of the Spark (May 3, 2019))

  • 701.42. Adapt
    • 701.42a “Adapt N” means “If this permanent has no +1/+1 counters on it, put N +1/+1 counters on it.”

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (War of the Spark (May 3, 2019))

Adapt
A keyword action that puts +1/+1 counters on a creature that doesn’t have any yet. See rule 701.42, “Adapt.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You can always activate an ability that will cause a creature to adapt. As that ability resolves, if the creature has a +1/+1 counter on it for any reason, you simply won't put any +1/+1 counters on it.
  • If a creature somehow loses all of its +1/+1 counters, it can adapt again and get more +1/+1 counters.

Example[edit | edit source]

Example

Aeromunculus {1}{G}{U}
Creature — Homunculus Mutant
2/3
Flying
{2}{G}{U}: Adapt 1 (If this creature has no +1/+1 counters on it, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)

References[edit | edit source]