Absorb

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Absorb
Type: Static
Introduced: Future Sight
Last Used: Future Sight
Reminder Text: Absorb N (If a source would deal damage to this creature, prevent N of that damage.)
Statistics: 1 card
  • {W} 100%
Gatherer search for "Absorb"

Absorb is a damage prevention keyword ability, written as Absorb N, where N is any natural number. It prevents N damage from each single source that deals damage to the creature. Absorb was introduced in Future Sight. By its nature as a damage prevention ability, this is a white ability. It has only been printed on one card so far, the timeshifted Lymph Sliver.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

  • 702.63. Absorb
    • 702.63a Absorb is a static ability. “Absorb N” means “If a source would deal damage to this creature, prevent N of that damage.”
    • 702.63b Each absorb ability can prevent only N damage from any one source at any one time. It will apply separately to damage from other sources, or to damage dealt by the same source at a different time.
    • 702.63c If an object has multiple instances of absorb, each applies separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Ixalan (September 29, 2017))

Absorb
A keyword ability that prevents damage. See rule 702.63, “Absorb.”

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Lymph Sliver - {4}{W}
    Creature — Sliver
    3/3
    All Sliver creatures have absorb 1. (If a source would deal damage to a Sliver, prevent 1 of that damage.)