Difference between revisions of "Ability word"

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(Updated rules to Khans of Tarkir)
Line 6: Line 6:
   
 
==Comprehensive Rules==
 
==Comprehensive Rules==
{{CR|June 1, 2014|*'''207.2c''' An ability word appears in italics at the beginning of some abilities. Ability words are similar to keywords in that they tie together cards that have similar functionality, but they have no special rules meaning and no individual entries in the Comprehensive Rules. The ability words are [[battalion]], [[bloodrush]], [[channel]], [[chroma]], [[constellation]], [[domain]], [[fateful hour]], [[grandeur]], [[hellbent]], [[heroic]], [[imprint]], [[inspired]], [[join forces]], [[kinship]], [[landfall]], [[metalcraft]], [[morbid]], [[parley]], [[radiance]], [[strive]], [[sweep]], [[tempting offer]], [[threshold]], and [[will of the council]].}}
+
{{CR|Khans of Tarkir|*'''207.2c''' An ''ability word'' appears in italics at the beginning of some abilities on cards. Ability words are similar to keywords in that they tie together cards that have similar functionality, but they have no special rules meaning and no individual entries in the Comprehensive Rules. The ability words are [[battalion]], [[bloodrush]], [[channel]], [[chroma]], [[constellation]], [[domain]], [[fateful hour]], [[ferocious]], [[grandeur]], [[hellbent]], [[heroic]], [[imprint]], [[inspired]], [[join forces]], [[kinship]], [[landfall]], [[metalcraft]], [[morbid]], [[parley]], [[radiance]], [[raid]], [[strive]], [[sweep]], [[tempting offer]], [[threshold]], and [[will of the council]].}}
   
 
==Examples==
 
==Examples==

Revision as of 00:18, 19 January 2015

An ability word is a word that, in essence, groups, and reminds players of, cards that have a common functionality and does not imply any particular rules. In other words, it is a naming convention to group like things together that cannot be keyworded. As a consequence of having no significant rules, ability words do not have separate entries in the Comprehensive Rules.[1]

Debuting in Unhinged, with Gotcha, ability words were introduced among tournament-legal cards in Saviors of Kamigawa with Channel and Sweep. Some cards, such as the Domain cards of Invasion block, and keyword abilities, such as Odyssey block's Threshold during Time Spiral block, have been retroactively erataed to, respectively, feature ability words or become ability words.

The way you can tell something is an ability word is twofold. First, it is always in italics, with a dash at the beginning of the rules text. Second, if removed from the card, the rules text would still read perfectly fine. Keywords, in contrast, are within the rules text and would make the text incomplete if removed.

Comprehensive Rules

Lua error in Module:CR at line 549: Unknown error, multiple lookups .

Examples

Examples of ability words are:

  • Metalcraft — {Additional or alternate effect} if you control three or more artifacts.
  • Sweep — Return any number of {basic land types} you control to their owner's hand. {An effect based on the number of lands returned.}

List of ability words

Template:Col-begin Template:Col-break

Template:Col-break

Template:Col-end

See also

References

  1. Mark Rosewater (July 28, 2008). "Ability Word to Your Mother". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.