Vehicle

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Vehicle is an artifact subtype introduced in Kaladesh.[1][2][3] It was also used in Aether Revolt.[4][5]

Fleetwheel Cruiser.png

Description[edit | edit source]

Vehicle cards have a special bronze and grey blocked card frame[6] and a power/toughness printed in a bronze colored box. However, vehicles don't have a power or a toughness unless they become creatures.

Artifacts with this subtype have the crew keyword, which allows them to temporarily become artifact creatures. Creatures with the Pilot type have an ability that somehow cares about crewing Vehicles.

If the effect turning your Vehicle into an artifact creature doesn't specify its power and toughness, the printed power and toughness on the Vehicle is used. Other effects may turn a Vehicle into an artifact creature but specify its power and toughness. In that case, use the specified power and toughness. They'll overwrite whatever's printed on the Vehicle. There's no connection between the Vehicle and the creatures that crew it once the crew ability is activated. Blowing up the Vehicle won't affect the crew, and vice versa.

Vehicle is an artifact type, not a creature type. A Vehicle that’s crewed won’t have any creature type.[7][8] However, because it retains its artifact type, it will be an Artifact Creature - Vehicle.[9][10]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Amonkhet (April 28, 2017))

  • 301.7. Some artifacts have the subtype “Vehicle.” Vehicles have a crew ability, which allows them to become artifact creatures. See rule 702.121, “Crew.”
    • 301.7a Each Vehicle has a printed power and toughness, but it has these characteristics only if it’s also a creature. See rule 208.3.
    • 301.7b If a Vehicle becomes a creature, it immediately has its printed power and toughness. Other effects, including the effect that makes it a creature, may modify these values or set them to different values.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Amonkhet (April 28, 2017))

Vehicle
An artifact subtype. Vehicles can become artifact creatures. See rule 301, “Artifacts,” and rule 702.121, “Crew.”

History[edit | edit source]

Vehicle was first previewed on the card Ovalchase Dragster at PAX West 2016.[11]

References[edit | edit source]