From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Poly, in the context of artifacts, is an obsolete term that used to denote an artifact as having no activated ability. The type was obsoleted with Revised. [1]

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

Poly Artifact (Obsolete)
An obsolete term that appeared on the type line of artifacts with activated abilities that didn’t cause the artifact to be tapped as a cost. Cards printed with this text have received errata in the Oracle card reference to simply say “Artifact.”

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (October 04, 2004.) “Change For the Better”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.