Name

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Name refers to the name of a card.[1] Name is also a characteristic of an object. All cards have names while tokens may or may not have names.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 201. Name
    • 201.1. The name of a card is printed on its upper left corner.
    • 201.2. A card’s name is always considered to be the English version of its name, regardless of printed language.
      • 201.2a Two objects have the same name if their names are identical.
      • 201.2b If an object has more than one name, it has the same name as another object if there are one or more names that both objects have in common.
      • 201.2c Two or more objects have different names if there are no names that both objects have in common.
    • 201.3. If an effect instructs a player to name a card, the player must choose the name of a card that is legal in the format of the game the player is playing. (See rule 100.6.) A player may not choose the name of a token unless it’s also the name of a card.
      • 201.3a If a player wants to name a split card, the player must choose the name of one of its halves, but not both. (See rule 708.)
      • 201.3b If a player wants to name a flip card’s alternative name, the player may do so. (See rule 709.)
      • 201.3c If a player wants to name the back face of a double-faced card, the player may do so. (See rule 711.)
      • 201.3d If a player wants to name the combined back face of a meld pair, the player may do so. (See rule 712.)
    • 201.4. Text that refers to the object it’s on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.
      • 201.4a If an ability’s effect grants another ability to an object, and that second ability refers to that first ability’s source by name, the name refers only to the specific object that is that first ability’s source, not to any other object with the same name. This is also true if the second ability is copied onto a new object.

        Example: Gutter Grime has an ability that reads “Whenever a nontoken creature you control dies, put a slime counter on Gutter Grime, then create a green Ooze creature token with ‘This creature’s power and toughness are each equal to the number of slime counters on Gutter Grime.’” The ability granted to the token only looks at the Gutter Grime that created the token, not at any other Gutter Grime on the battlefield. A copy of that token would also have an ability that referred only to the Gutter Grime that created the original token.

      • 201.4b If an ability of an object refers to that object by name, and an object with a different name gains that ability, each instance of the first name in the gained ability that refers to the first object by name should be treated as the second name.

        Example: Quicksilver Elemental says, in part, “{U}: Quicksilver Elemental gains all activated abilities of target creature until end of turn.” If it gains an ability that says “{G}: Regenerate Cudgel Troll,” activating that ability will regenerate Quicksilver Elemental, not the Cudgel Troll it gained the ability from.

        Example: Glacial Ray is an instant with “splice onto Arcane” that says “Glacial Ray deals 2 damage to target creature or player.” If it’s spliced onto a Kodama’s Reach, that Kodama’s Reach deals 2 damage to the target creature or player.

        Example: Dimir Doppelganger says “{1}{U}{B}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Dimir Doppelganger becomes a copy of that card and gains this ability.” Dimir Doppelganger’s ability is activated targeting a Runeclaw Bear card. The Doppelganger becomes a copy of Runeclaw Bear and gains an ability that should be treated as saying “{1}{U}{B}: Exile target creature card from a graveyard. Runeclaw Bear becomes a copy of that card and gains this ability.”

      • 201.4c Text printed on some legendary cards refers to that card by a shortened version of its name. Instances of a card’s shortened name used in this manner are treated as though they used the card’s full name.
    • 201.5. If an ability of an object uses a phrase such as “this [something]” to identify an object, where [something] is a characteristic, it is referring to that particular object, even if it isn’t the appropriate characteristic at the time.

      Example: An ability reads “Target creature gets +2/+2 until end of turn. Destroy that creature at the beginning of the next end step.” The ability will destroy the object it gave +2/+2 to even if that object isn’t a creature at the beginning of the next end step.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Matt Cavotta. (April 25, 2005.) "Say My Name", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast. [dead link]