|Introduced:||Shards of Alara|
|Last Used:||Magic 2013|
|Reminder Text:||Exalted (Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)|
|Statistics:|| 31 cards|
28% 16% 10% 10%
Multicolor 32% Land 3%
|Gatherer search for "Exalted"|
Exalted is a triggered ability first introduced in Shards of Alara  and also featured in Conflux and Alara Reborn. It returned in Magic 2013. Whenever a creature you control attacks alone, that creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn for each creature with exalted.
History[edit | edit source]
Exalted was introduced in Shards of Alara as the White-dominated shard of Bant mechanic, and was reprinted in Magic 2013 on black creatures.
Later, Design experimented with an "advanced exalted" for Amonkhet, where a creature with the ability granted things other than +1/+1, mostly creature keywords. Then they tried a variant of this mechanic, where a creature with the ability granted a creature keyword to a target attacking creature. It no longer required the creature to be attacking alone, but the creature granted the ability had to be attacking as well (and yes, it could choose itself). Finally, it was replaced by exert.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- If you declare exactly one creature as an attacker, each exalted ability on each permanent you control (including, perhaps, the attacking creature itself) will trigger. The bonuses are given to the attacking creature, not to the permanent with exalted. Ultimately, the attacking creature will wind up with +1/+1 for each of your exalted abilities.
- Some cards with exalted abilities have other abilities that also trigger when a creature you control attacks alone. Each time a creature you control attacks alone, both the exalted ability and the other ability will trigger.
- If you attack with multiple creatures, but then all but one are removed from combat, your exalted abilities won't trigger.
- Some effects put creatures into play attacking. Since those creatures were never declared as attackers, they're ignored by exalted abilities. They won't cause exalted abilities to trigger. If any exalted abilities have already triggered (because exactly one creature was declared as an attacker), those abilities will resolve as normal even though there may now be multiple attackers.
- Exalted abilities will resolve before blockers are declared.
- Exalted bonuses last until end of turn. If an effect creates an additional combat phase during your turn, a creature that attacked alone during the first combat phase will still have its exalted bonuses in that new phase. If a creature attacks alone during the second combat phase, all your exalted abilities will trigger again.
- In a Two-Headed Giant game, a creature "attacks alone" if it's the only creature declared as an attacker by your entire team. If you control that attacking creature, your exalted abilities will trigger but your teammate's exalted abilities won't.
Examples[edit | edit source]
Creature that grants Exalted[edit | edit source]
Plane card that grants Exalted[edit | edit source]
- Bant (all creatures)
Trivia[edit | edit source]
- Exalted was featured as rules card 1 of 5 in the Shards of Alara set.
- Exalted Angel and Exalted Dragon don't have exalted
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater. (September 8, 2008.) “Between a Rock and a Shard Place”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater. (July 19, 2012.) “First Impressions”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Zac Hill. (July 27, 2012.) “Attack!”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Mark Rosewater. (April 17, 2017 .) “Amonkhet Down to Business, Part 3”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.