Convoke

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Convoke
Type: Static
Introduced: Ravnica: City of Guilds
Last Used: Magic 2015
Reminder Text: Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature's color.)
Storm Scale: 3[1]
Statistics: 35 cards
{W}34% {G}34% {B}11% {R}6%
{G/W}6% {U}3% {X}6%
Gatherer search for "Convoke"

Convoke is a keyword ability associated with the Selesnya guild from Ravnica: City of Guilds.[2] The mechanic was originally devised by Richard Garfield.[3]

Description[edit | edit source]

It was a returning mechanic in Future Sight and Magic 2015.[4] It works by allowing a player to tap creatures rather than pay some of the mana cost of a spell. Each creature that is tapped pays for either {1} or one mana of one of the creature's colors. By nature, this is a green ability, an even quicker way of paying for spells as green is by nature quick; though as the Selesnya guild mechanic it is also found in white. Nonetheless, in Magic 2015 there are convoke spells of all colors and none.

Originally, convoke was an additional cost that reduced the cost in mana. With the return of convoke in Magic 2015, the rules for convoke changed to their current form as an alternative way of paying a mana cost. This affects how it interacts with, for example, Eldrazi Spawn tokens' sacrifice-based mana ability (mana abilities must be activated before paying costs), and effects such as Trinisphere that care about total costs.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (June 5, 2017))

  • 702.50. Convoke
    • 702.50a Convoke is a static ability that functions while the spell with convoke is on the stack. “Convoke” means “For each colored mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped creature of that color you control rather than pay that mana. For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped creature you control rather than pay that mana.”
    • 702.50b The convoke ability isn’t an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with convoke is determined.

      Example: Heartless Summoning says, in part, “Creature spells you cast cost {2} less to cast.” You control Heartless Summoning and cast Siege Wurm, a spell with convoke that costs {5}{G}{G}. The total cost to cast Siege Wurm is {3}{G}{G}. After activating mana abilities, you pay that total cost. You may tap up to two green creatures and up to three creatures of any color to pay that cost, and the remainder is paid with mana.

    • 702.50c Multiple instances of convoke on the same spell are redundant.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (June 5, 2017))

Convoke
A keyword ability that lets you tap creatures rather than pay mana to cast a spell. See rule 702.50, “Convoke.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You can tap only untapped creatures you control to pay for a spell with convoke that you cast.
  • Creatures tapped by convoke cannot be used to attack
  • You can use creatures with summoning sickness to pay for Convoke costs.
  • Convoke doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost. For example, the converted mana cost of Endless Obedience is 6 even if you tapped six creatures to cast it.
  • When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Convoke applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • Because convoke isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • Tapping a multicolored creature using convoke will pay for {1} or one mana of your choice of any of that creature’s colors.
  • When using convoke to cast a spell with {X} in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap creatures you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Chord of Calling (a spell with convoke and mana cost {X}{G}{G}{G}) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}{G}{G}{G}. If you tap two green creatures and two red creatures, you’ll have to pay {1}{G}.
  • If a creature you control has a mana ability with {T} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with convoke will result in the creature being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for convoke. Similarly, if you sacrifice a creature to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with convoke, that creature won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for convoke.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Conclave Equenaut - {4}{W}{W}
    Creature — Human Soldier
    3/3
    Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature's color.)
    Flying
  • Siege Wurm - {5}{G}{G}
    Creature — Wurm
    5/5
    Convoke (Your creatures can help cast this spell. Each creature you tap while casting this spell pays for {1} or one mana of that creature's color.)
    Trample (If this creature would assign enough damage to its blockers to destroy them, you may have it assign the rest of its damage to defending player or planeswalker.)

Cards that grant Convoke[edit | edit source]

See also[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (May 2, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Aaron Forsythe. (September 23, 2005.) “Ravnica: Review and Preview”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Mark Rosewater. (October 1, 2012.) “Designing for Selesnya”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Sam Stoddard. (July 25, 2014.) “Developing Convoking”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.