Amplify

From MTG Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Amplify
Type: Static
Introduced: Legions
Last Used: Legions
Reminder Text: Amplify N (As this object enters the battlefield, reveal any number of cards from your hand that share a creature type with it. This permanent comes into play with N +1/+1 counters on it for each card revealed this way.)
Statistics: 9 cards
{B}33% {G}33% {W}22% {R}11%
Gatherer search for "Amplify"

Amplify is a keyword ability on creatures that allows the player to reveal creature cards in his or her hand that share a creature type with the creature. The creature enters the battlefield with a number of +1/+1 counters for each such card revealed. Some creatures with amplify have additional abilities tied to the number of +1/+1 counters on them (see Kilnmouth Dragon).

All tournament-legal creatures with Amplify were printed in Legions.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (June 5, 2017))

  • 702.37. Amplify
    • 702.37a Amplify is a static ability. “Amplify N” means “As this object enters the battlefield, reveal any number of cards from your hand that share a creature type with it. This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it for each card revealed this way. You can’t reveal this card or any other cards that are entering the battlefield at the same time as this card.”
    • 702.37b If a creature has multiple instances of amplify, each one works separately.

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (June 5, 2017))

Amplify
A keyword ability than can have a creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it. See rule 702.37, “Amplify.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The player who will control the creature is the one who reveals the cards.
  • Each revealed card must share a creature type with the card with amplify. The reminder text reminds you what those types are.
  • Playing the Onslaught card Artificial Evolution on a spell with amplify on the stack can change what types need to be revealed. The card Conspiracy can also change what types need to be revealed.
  • If multiple creatures with amplify are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may reveal the same cards for each of them.
  • If you cast Clone (or a creature with a similar ability) and choose for it to copy a creature with amplify, you get to reveal cards and have the creature get +1/+1 counters.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Glowering Rogon - {5}{G}
    Creature — Beast
    4/4
    Amplify 1 (As this creature enters the battlefield, put a +1/+1 counter on it for each Beast card you reveal in your hand.)